San Antonio

Prop B fails, Nirenberg reelected, 5 council races head to runoff after record-setting election in San Antonio

SAN ANTONIO – Despite heavy rains and flooding, greater than 50,000 voters cast ballots on election day including to a file variety of early voters to complete the most effective turnout for a May election in San Antonio’s historical past with greater than 17% of eligible voters casting a poll.

Voters have been pushed to the polls largely by a contentious proposition associated to policing and the mayor’s race. The mayor’s race was referred to as comparatively early in the evening, after early vote totals have been launched, whereas Proposition B was too shut to name till proper up to the top.

Proposition B, aimed toward repealing the San Antonio police union’s proper to collectively cut price with the City of San Antonio, was essentially the most controversial race and the closest. The measure narrowly failed to go with 51% voting in opposition to it.


In the race for mayor, incumbent Ron Nirenberg had a simple victory regardless of having 13 opponents. Greg Brockhouse, his closest competitor, couldn’t pressure the race right into a runoff, not like in 2019.

Proposition A, which permits extra flexibility in what sort of initiatives town can fund with bond money, handed with 58% of the vote.

Half of the City Council races have been selected election evening with 5 incumbents retaining their seats. The different 5 council district races will go to a runoff on June 5 with three incumbents dealing with challengers.

Winners have been declared in the next races:

  • District 4: Incumbent Adriana Rocha Garcia received with 70% of the vote.

  • District 6: Incumbent Melissa Cabello Havrda received with 55% of the vote.

  • District 7: Incumbent Ana Sandoval received with 71% of the vote.

  • District 8: Incumbent Manny Palaez received with 59% of the vote.

  • District 10: Incumbent Clayton Perry received with 54% of the vote.

Copyright 2021 by KSAT – All rights reserved.

Back to top button